Simple Things That Help Me Exercise

When your muscles are clenched, with some muscles screaming louder than others and you’re so tired that bedtime is all you can think about, exercise isn’t your top priority. But, ironically, light exercise can help with fatigue. It also helps to strengthen the muscles that so desperately ache.
Here are the simple things that help me exercise:

  • My dog – he needs a walk most days, knowing that’s his favourite time of day encourages me to go.
  • Knowledge of my body – if I don’t keep it up I slip backward in my progress. In a surprisingly short amount of time, how far I can walk without too much pain in my legs afterward, can decrease.
  • Willpower – anything I achieve with fibro/CFS takes a lot of willpower. It’d be easier to let myself lie on the couch more often than not, but if I (gently) push myself, while respecting my limits, it’s worth it. 
  • Enjoyment – I enjoy the type of exercise I do, mostly walking and Pilates or yoga, so I want to do it.
  • My baby – my little buddy likes walking as much as I do. He enjoys watching the new sights and then being lulled to sleep by the motion. Sometimes it is the longest break I get from having to hold him – which helps my back!

I have to remind myself regularly, even if the baby is fussy when we get home, to stretch. Stretching is very important as I think that my muscles are super prone to clenching and getting tight from use. 

Leave a Reply

