Necessary Baby Items for a Fibro Mama

There are a multitude of nursery items and almost as many articles about which ones are necessary. Here’s my recommendations for a fibro mama, or really, any mama!

Below are some the items I found indispensable for a mama with fibromyalgia:

My boy in his bouncy when he was teeny tiny

My boy in his bouncy when he was teeny tiny

  • Cot. Obviously.
  • Changing table. We weren’t going to buy one, I had thought that I could get by without one. But, being given one has been a lifesaver. I have everything I need to change him on the shelf and can lay him down at the right height for changing.
  • A rocking chair. My husband and I clashed about this one. He didn’t think it was necessary. I believed with all my heart that it was. I ended up getting a second hand one and it has been so useful. For nursing, expressing or just rocking when you’re too tired to stand, it was worth it.
  • Pushchair. We didn’t end up with one I’d recommend (a basic four wheeler one) but this is necessary.
  • Infant capsule seat with folding pushchair frame. We didn’t get one before the baby was born because I thought it would be too heavy for me to lift. I was right, very quickly it became a real burden to carry. However, with the frame and the fact that he was not a good napper, it turned out to be invaluable. At some stage early on I noticed that he was tired by about 9 in the morning, but struggled to get to sleep. So we began leaving the house (rain or shine) either via the car or walking. He learned to nap this way. The seat and frame meant that I could seamlessly move from car to shops to car to home easily.
  • A front pack. This is a difficult one. On the one hand, you are going to hold the weight anyway, so why not distribute it more evenly. On the other, from about six months my little guy became too heavy for my shoulders to bear for too long. I would like a sling for the first few months if I do it again.
  • A bath seat. This has meant that I don’t have to hold his weight while he is in the bath and it’s far more easy to wash him.
  • Jolly Jumper. We used this once his neck was strong, at about four months. This was lovely for me when he was super fussy and I was super tired. It gave me ten minutes of time out from holding him.
  • Portacot. We didn’t get one until he was eight months old as we thought it was unnecessary once he outgrew the bassinet stage. We were wrong. It has been invaluable. Our little guy finally got the hang of proper napping at about eight months old (coinciding with our buying the portacot, but not because of it!), which means he needs to be able to sleep for 1-2 hours each morning and afternoon. I now understand how inflexible the schedule was for mother’s whose babies starting napping earlier. The portacot means that my boy can sleep at either grandparents house, so we don’t have a to squish a visit in between naps or push out naps.
  • One thing they can use to pull themselves up with. When he started to develop the ability to pull himself up, we got a table type toy where he can stand and play. This is a useful thing to let them stand without you holding them.
  • Baby seat. This was something I wanted but didn’t purchase until he was already sitting on his own. It would have been useful before this as he loved to sit and see so it could have bought me more non holding time. Now we use it, strapped to a chair as his highchair. We can also take it when we go away. He will be able to use this until he’s tall enough to sit on a chair at the table, without the space a highchair takes.
  • Bouncinette/Electronic Rocker. This was one of those things that buys you some non holding time that you so desperately need when they’re clingy or your sore or you need to get stuff done.

Is there anything else to add? Was there one awesome thing you would not do without?

Leave a Reply

